Light is in my name

My name, Deepali, literally means ‘a row of lamps’  in Sanskrit. The story is that I was born around Diwali, the Indian festival of lights and my mom’s doc said it’s auspicious and we should always remember this. So, he gave me the name and it stuck :-).

diyas1

Maybe that explains why I have a thing for lighting up deepas when I am in a happy celebratory mood. A deepa or diya is an oil lamp usually made from clay, with a cotton wick, used temporarily as lighting for special occasions. But then “light is good from whatever lamp it shines”.

diyas4

There are two kinds of light – the glow that illumines, and the glare that obscures.  ~James Thurber

diyas3

In the right light, at the right time, everything is extraordinary.  ~Aaron Rose

Related post: That Instant Glow

See more illumination in the Weekly Photo Challenge here.

18 thoughts on “Light is in my name

Leave a Reply

