Detours by Deepali

Every now and then, go down a different path

Azure boats of Mangalore fishermen

Imagine staying in a 100 odd years old house in the middle of a picturesque coastal town with the sweetest people as your hosts. Lucky me did just that! My friend P invited me into her ancestral home in Mangalore* for a few days. It was almost like a dream… but for Ajji, her 85 years old grandmother who made sure that things remained, well, down to earth :-). After I was done gawking over this beautiful place and had settled in, I asked her, the famed connoisseur of Manglorean cuisine,  how can I get her to cook for me? “I’ll cook for you if you get the fish. But make sure it’s really fresh”.  So, off we went to the fish market. In pursuit of freshness, I got to go a step further to explore the fish farmers’ dwellings where a hard working fishermen community is busy in offshore and deep-sea fisheries in their little azure blue boats.

*Mangalore is a port city in the state of Karnataka in south India, about 220 m west of the state capital, Bangalore.

6 comments on “Azure boats of Mangalore fishermen

  1. Kavi
    November 21, 2012

    Nice photos? How was the fish? ;)

    • Deepali
      November 22, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by, Kavi. We did manage to get some incredibly fresh fish which Ajji very kindly cooked for us. Over the few days I was there, I had sumptuous local fish and crab curries like Bolanjir Ghassi and Jenji Ghasi..Yummy!! :-)

  2. adinparadise
    November 21, 2012

    Beautiful pics, Deepali. I love that azure blue. :)

  3. adinparadise
    November 22, 2012

    There’s an award for you on my latest post. :)

    • Deepali
      November 22, 2012

      You made my day, ad. Loving this nomination :-) thanks a ton and congrats for another feather in your super vibrant bloggers’ cap..

      • adinparadise
        November 22, 2012

        That’s so nice to know, Deepali. Love your blog too. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2012 by in culture, india, people, photography, travel and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

