Detours by Deepali

Every now and then, go down a different path

My serene spot in this city

Sometimes living in a city can feel like you’re caught in a whirlwind and trying hard not to get sucked into the vortex. It helps to get away from the chaos, to your own place of tranquility that is fit for taking a deep breath, focusing on the center of your being and opening up. Just like “hot spots” for the internet all over town, we need “serene spots” for the spirit. Thankfully, I’ve found my serene spot not very far from home…

072I had passed by this area often, on my way to rushing for meetings or running errands. From the main road, it seemed an ordinary water body lined with a handful of trees. But one day, as I was stranded in a traffic jam with a lot of time to kill, I peered at the tree line more closely and lo and behold.. I noticed a narrow jagged trail at a distance going deeper and farther and tapering away. Yeah, soon enough I was walking on that  trail :-)

I sauntered through a natural avenue of trees. It was shady, dark and cool. As I came to the end of the trees it opened up into a small lake. The air was warmer, the sounds of insects almost too loud. A strider suddenly broke the surface and ripples widened out. Standing at the edge of the lake now, with the pebbles under my feet, I took in the smell, of water and air, warmth and living.

005

In the depths of its water, I could only see the pond weed and small insects at first. But as I remained still, layers of water became more apparent; the open light layer with minnows darting about, the next darker layer and the deeper dark bottom of the pond with the brown silt moving with life.

068Then the dragonflies caught my attention, landing on a bulrush nearby. I lifted my gaze for a moment to see them in their metallic blue finery. From the corner of my eye I could see a dark shape move in the water and realized there are loads of fish that I’d not noticed before. I finally gave in to my urge to throw a pebble in the water: there’s a ‘plop’ sound, concentric circles form on the lake, and a moorhen runs away startled. Yes, I’d found my serene spot :-)

057

20 comments on “My serene spot in this city

  1. youmeandatanuki
    June 13, 2012

    It’s amazing what you find when you’re able to slow down for a bit. Great photos!

    • detours by deepali
      June 13, 2012

      Thanks a lot. You’re so right. We miss out on so much while rushing through our daily rut. It’s great to slow down sometimes.

  2. LubbyGirl
    June 23, 2012

    I totally see why this spot appeals to you. I’d be LOVIN’ it!!!

  3. Pingback: Ripples on a water lily pond « Detours by Deepali

  4. Pingback: Lazy waters « Detours by Deepali

  5. mara4africatoalgarve
    September 29, 2012

    I would love this spot, too. Out of that traffic jam came something good.

  6. Very peaceful serenity – yes :)

  7. Marion Driessen
    September 29, 2012

    Peaceful and calm, a real haven.

  8. jakesprinter
    September 29, 2012

    Beautiful place thanks for sharing :)

  9. Colline
    September 30, 2012

    Beautiful! I am not surprised that you love it.

    • Deepali
      September 30, 2012

      Thanks, Colline. Glad you liked the post and my favorite spot :-)

  10. Jo Bryant
    September 30, 2012

    it is gorgeous…isn’t it wonderful what you find if you just stop and take the time

    • Deepali
      October 1, 2012

      Thanks, Jo! So very true ..life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans

  11. Angelia Sims
    October 2, 2012

    That is a little slice of paradise in the midst of the city. I love the path. It’s a wonderful spot to share. :-)

    • Deepali
      October 2, 2012

      Thanks, Angelina. Your lovely words have made me love this place all over again :-) so glad you stopped by!

  12. restlessjo
    October 13, 2012

    An excellent “detour”.

  13. thetemenosjournal
    November 2, 2012

    “we need “serene spots” for the spirit” YES. You’ve a beautiful eye. I love your work.

    • Deepali
      November 3, 2012

      That’s an excellent comment.. one of the best i got!! Thanks for making my day :-)

  14. Pingback: Sieged by reed | Detours by Deepali

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2012 by in life, nature, outdoors, photography, random, writing and tagged , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

